You never take me anywhere anymore……

And no, it’s not what you would typically think!  My dear husband and I have had this conversation numerous times over the past year or so about the number of times we used to eat out every week.  Because I had not yet found the joy of cooking, we were out…….A LOT.

However, once I started this cooking adventure and fully embraced my Celiac disease, dining out just lost some of it’s sparkle.  Particularly as some restaurants and cafes simply are not well versed or interested in catering for multiple food allergies.  So because I have hundreds of recipes I want to test and dining out can result in unexpected illness, we tend not to go out very often anymore and, if we do, we frequent those allergy friendly places on rotation.  It’s me that doesn’t want to go out anymore with other members of the family not unhappy with it, but definitely taking notice.

Breakfast is probably my favourite meal out so when Open Dorz opened at a prime spot in New Lambton, my New Lambton born and bred husband was keen to give it a whirl.  He frequents Luke, the owner, daily for coffee and on Friday’s for eggs on toast.  Since I am on leave, I have had breakfast the last two Fridays with my husband and it has been fantastic.

It is so wonderful to find a local spot, in an area we love, with fantastic food and a positive attitude to food allergies.  Luke and his Mum are much appreciated and the egg white omelette, gluten free toast and coffee are superb.  I love allergy free dining 🙂

You can find Open Dorz at Regent Street in New Lambton.  They are open weekdays from 7am-5pm.  Check out their Facebook page here and enjoy

http://www.facebook.com/pages/OPEN-DORZ/168340703232880?ref=ts

This entry was posted in Gluten Free Dining and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment